My First 20 Mile Run… Ever

Run: Redefine the Impossible

image credit: Pinterest

I did it! I ran 20 miles and, dare I say, felt great the whole time – well, relatively speaking, of course.

I kind of loved it… throughout the whole run, even when it got mentally tough, I loved that my legs were carrying me further than I usually drive in a car.

I loved being out on the road, in a beautiful location that is one of my favorite spots in the whole country, by myself with my thoughts, jamming out to music and taking in the scenery around me.

I loved that I found strength from family, friends, other bloggers, mantras, and myself.

I loved that the weather was on my side today, giving me cooler temperatures and lower humidity than the run that shall not be named.

I loved climbing bridges, running into the raging wind, and knowing I am stronger than I’ve ever been.

I loved that I pushed myself so far out of my comfort zone, that I still can’t believe I actually accomplished this milestone. I keep checking my route to make sure I covered 20 miles and not, like, 12. (Let’s not talk about how much that would suck…)

But, that didn’t happen.

Nope.

I ran 20 miles. I ran 20 miles with a faster average pace than what I did 18 in last weekend (by one second, but I’ll take it!). I ran 20 miles and saw more than a few miles hovering below my goal pace.

It’s hard to believe that I used to cry my way through 6-mile runs, that I hated the 5K distance because it was “too long.” I guess I’ve officially crossed over from 400m/800m runner to long distance runner.

And, I kind of love it.

2 thoughts on “My First 20 Mile Run… Ever

  1. Pingback: Out With The Old, In With The New | Staying On Track

  2. Pingback: Marathon Training: Peak Week | Staying On Track

What do you have to say?

