Sayonara, Florida

In two hours, I will be leaving Florida and making my way to the nation’s capital to begin the next stage of my life. Although I rarely write about my personal life on this blog, there’s a lot going on in my head that I feel like sharing.

College is over. It’s a surreal feeling– one that hasn’t quite hit me yet, and probably won’t until August when I see most of my friends buckling down for a new semester.

I’m leaving my family and friends and wondering how I’m going to afford life in a big city. First of all, everything is a lot more expensive than I think it should be. For example, bath mats at Target are $12.99 and up. Seriously? 13 bucks for a bath mat? In my head, those things should be 3 dollars. Or free, that would work, too.

But, I digress…

A lot of changes are taking place, and I don’t want to take a tone that’s too self-pitying because I know I am just one in a million recent college grads taking a chance and starting over, but it’s a difficult time for me. I’m a homebody who truly puts family and friends first, and leaving them all behind is challenging.

Once I get to D.C., I know I’ll be happy, but that 11 hour car ride is going to be rough, and not just because I have to share the backseat with my two younger brothers. It’s going to give me ample time to reflect on the first 22 years of my life and wonder what the next 22 will bring. Because that’s what I do–I over analyze.

When it comes down to it, I’m ecstatic to finally be moving to a big city where I can rely on public transportation and have a wealth of culture and history at my disposal. I plan to take full advantage of my time there, embracing every opportunity that comes my way, but that doesn’t mean I won’t look back on my time at USF.

So, as I get ready to place the last box in my family truck, I’m hanging on to the memories and looking forward to chasing my dreams.

Real world, here I come.

8 thoughts on “Sayonara, Florida

  1. You are going to do fabulous! Now is the time, no commitments, no career (yet), and still you have family to save you (us!)

    By the time you get this you will be there and my first suggestion: go do something all alone in a big city. I believe it is one of the most exciting and accomplishing things to do in the world, short of marriage and childbirth, which I know nothing about.🙂

    Look forward to the adventure Meg!

  2. Good luck on the new adventure! That’s a big step moving way away like that, but it will be fun and a good experience.

    (kudos on looking forward to using public transportation too, all too often it gets a bad rep)

  3. That’s such a huge step – but in huge steps, we find growth! From what I have read, I have a feeling you will fit nicely into the fast paced world that DC offers.

    I will be there this summer as well.

    If you can see my address, shoot me an email – maybe we can meet up this summer. I’m always a fan of networking with other PR pros!

    Have a great summer Meg!

  4. Good luck! It’s so exciting to begin something like that! I hope to do it someday, myself.

    P.S. You had a post a while back where you talked about Freewebs. I love love love it. I’ve been looking for the best place to host my online portfolio for ages and Freewebs is perfect! Still working on the content, but as soon it’s ready I’ll send you a link🙂

  5. Looks like it’s going to be time to develop an addiction to home decor blogs😉 Apartment Therapy Blog is a good place to start, if you haven’t already.

  6. Thanks everyone for the encouragement and support– it means so much. I’m in D.C., and I love it, so you were all right! I’ll keep you updated on everything as I go.

    @Carrie – Thanks for the suggestion– I already have it my google reader!

  7. Enjoy Washington, D.C., Meg! It is a great place to launch a career. I treasure my times there. It’s a young city, and it is so vibrant. Let me know if you need any contacts over there.

What do you have to say?

