Another Absent Blogger? Shame on Me– But I’m Back!

I put myself in the corner today. I’m punishing myself for being a bad, bad blogger. It’s unfortunate— just when I was getting passionate about blogging, I experienced several major life changes that, well, exhausted me and kept from being as committed as I had been earlier this year.

I won’t ramble on with tons of excuses because I don’t have any you haven’t heard, but I will briefly fill you in on what my life has been like the past 6 weeks:

I wake up at 6 a.m., a time I didn’t know existed while I was still in college. Instead of throwing on sundresses everyday, I have to stare at my closet and try to create a business-saavy outfit from what’s inside. Sometimes I eat a bowl of cereal while cursing my unreliable Internet connection. As I run out the door, I grab my umbrella and a novel (I’ve read 6 books in 6 weeks – all for pleasure!). I walk across the street (literally) to the metro station, usually just in time to see my blue line train whizzing past me, which means I have to wait 4-6 minutes for the next one. While on the train, I alternate between people watching and reading. Then, I get to work around 7:45 a.m. and stay until 6 p.m. After that, I commute home and run with my roommate around Alexandria or some of the fantastic parks in the D.C. area. Any spare time I have is spent eating, sleeping, showering, watching LOST, or exploring.

So while I have been lazy with my blogging, I have been productive in other areas of my life. I’m running regularly again, something I haven’t done since I got injured my freshman year of college. Reading has once again become my favorite hobby and I’m doing a pretty great job of staying in touch with all my Florida friends while managing to go out and meet amazing new people here. I love my job and the people I work with—looking back, I can’t believe how much I’ve learned in a month and a half.

But… just because I left the blogosphere does not mean I’ve been ignoring the community. I still check my Google reader religiously and have been active on Twitter. Learning from other PR professionals’ posts and online conversations has helped me in my career, and having knowledge about social media tools has allowed me to work on some very interesting projects at my agency.

This is reason enough for me to put away the excuses and to make time to blog. I feel better now. Maybe if I finally put up that “The First Month at Your First Job” post, I’ll let myself out of timeout.

One thought on “Another Absent Blogger? Shame on Me– But I’m Back!

What do you have to say?

