Reflecting on my 2011 Goals

2011 is winding down and I’m gearing up for a fantastic 2012. Before I begin listing my 2012 goals, I need to evaluate how I did with the ones I set for last year:

  • Run 5 races including the Army 10 Miler on October 9, 2011Accomplished! I ran quite a few races in 2011 – St. Patrick’s Day 8K, Cooper River Bridge Run 10K, Crystal City Twilighter 5K, Run! Geek! Run! 8K, Army 10 Miler, Subaru Thanksgiving Day 6K, and the Hot Chocolate 15K.
  • Try 5 types of new exercise – Accomplished! I tried Kazaxé, Bikram Yoga, Vinyasa Flow Yoga, p90x, and Tabata Intervals.
  • Improve my knowledge of basic nutrition and apply much of what I learn to my daily eating habits – Accomplished! After reading countless articles and journals on nutrition, I now eat a mostly vegetarian diet consisting of whole foods. In the beginning of 2011, I ate few vegetables and relied on a stocked freezer. Now, my meals are made from fresh ingredients and I rarely pull anything but frozen veggies or fruit from the freezer. I still have a lot of room for improvement, especially maintaining consistency when I’m traveling or on vacation.
  • Read 35 new books, five of which are nonfiction – Failed! I only read 22 books this year. I did not expect this goal to be the one I didn’t achieve, but moving into D.C. and eliminating my daily commute played a big role in why I didn’t read 35 books this year. I also devoted a lot of time to my new hobby – running!
  • Take a class to learn a new skill or improve an old one – Failed! Outside of fitness and nutrition, I did not take any classes. Finding the time and budget made this challenging.
  • Attend a professional conference or workshop – Accomplished! I attended Blog World Expo New York.
  • Get involved with a volunteer organization – Accomplished! I began regularly volunteering with Girls on the Run.
  • Determine whether I want to get a graduate degree – Accomplished! After a lot of research, I determined that I am not ready to pursue a graduate degree right now. In the future, I might look into getting an MBA so I can improve my knowledge of finance and marketing.
  • Travel to 3 new places  – Accomplished! This year, I made my way to three new cities in the United States: New Orleans, Charleston, and Harpers Ferry.

Looking back, I am impressed with how far I’ve come with my health and fitness. These goals have always been challenging for me to stick with, but I had NO trouble achieving the ones I made for 2011. I’m looking forward to challenging myself even more physically next year. Improving my health and fitness had positive effects on all other aspects of my life, from my career to my friendships and relationships. In 2012, I’d like to work on balance – maintaining a healthy, active lifestyle while not ignoring my other hobbies and passions (especially reading).

How did you do with your 2011 goals and/or resolutions?

What do you have to say?

