Looking Forward to 2012: Goal Setting

After having an amazing time in 2011, I am ready to challenge myself even more next year. There are a lot of things I’m hoping to accomplish before December 31, 2012 in lots of different areas of my life. Here’s a long list of goals I will be working toward achieving:

Running

In 2011, running became a very important part of my life. When I resumed running in January, I could barely maintain a 10:30 mile for 30 minutes on the treadmill. Now, I go for 13 mile runs because I feel like it. I am excited to see what I can achieve with running in 2012. 

  1. Finish my first half marathon.
  2. Run a half marathon in 1:45.
  3. Break 23 minutes in the 5K.
  4. Run 12 races in 2012.
  5. Set PRs in the 8K and 10K distances.

Health/Fitness

While running is my hobby and preferred method of exercise, I know that I need to build strength in other areas in order to maintain a balanced lifestyle. I hope to incorporate more variety into my health routine to ensure I am the healthiest I can be.  

  1. Try 3 new types of exercise. (I’d like to try The Bar Method, Cross Fit, TRX Training, and Physique 57).
  2. Strength train at least 2 time per week.
  3. Practice yoga at least 3 times per month.
  4. Eliminate sweets/desserts completely for one month.
  5. Make 10 new recipes.

Mental/Emotional

Living a balanced lifestyle means improving my mental and emotional health. In trying to develop physically health habits, this area of my life didn’t receive as much attention in 2011. I hope to change that next year.   

  1. Read 25 new books.
  2. Improve a professional skill (such as CSS/HTML or SEO/SEM).
  3. Attend 6 networking events.
  4. Read and watch the news daily.
  5. Read 3 industry-related books.

I’m glad I took the time to outline my goals before the new year starts – I have a tendency to make resolutions/goals in mid-January. I’m eager to get started as soon as I’m back in D.C. !

What are you hoping to accomplish in 2012?

 

2 thoughts on “Looking Forward to 2012: Goal Setting

  1. Pingback: My First Half Marathon: Disney’s Princess Half Marathon Race Recap « Staying On Track

  2. Pingback: My First Half Marathon: Disney’s Princess Half Marathon Race Recap « Staying On Track

What do you have to say?

